Fibronaut At Home

Gettin’ Down with the Downtown!

on February 24, 2012

The last two days, I’ve ignored my dirty dishes (how do I still have a pile with a dishwasher?) and my dirty kitchen floor (how do I have a dirty floor with my MINT automatic floor cleaner?), to do some real exercising via the Kinect.  Thanks to “The Black Eyed Peas Experience” and to “Dance Central” I am well on my way to shaking my tummy off.  I’ll keep the booty and the boobies but I hate the tummy!  If you are looking to try the Kinect as a way to get in shape, I highly recommend “Dance Central”.  There is a workout mode where you put in your weight and after every dance it tells you how long you’ve been exercising and the amount of calories you’ve burned.  You are able to choose your difficulty level which potentially allows you to perform to several songs.  My faves are “Push It” by Salt N Pepa and “C’mon Ride It” by Quad City DJ’s.  While I’ve only played it twice and I’ve not fully explored the game, “The Black Eyed Peas” is intense.  In story mode, you learn three to four different dances in four sets and perform in between each one.  You then perform with “The Black Eyed Peas” incorporating all the moves you’ve learned.  I do one song and I’m done.  I feel like I’ve really worked out, but I’d prefer to do more than one song.  As I said, I haven’t played “The Black Eyed Peas” as much as I’ve played “Dance Central” so there may be an easier mode that I’m missing.

We have other games including “The Michael Jackson Experience” and “Once upon a Monster” but those are more fun to play with my hubby and kids.  The most important part of  all this is that I’m up and moving.  Does that mean I’m ready to go back to work?  No.  I still have days where I feel like I can’t move due to pain or fatigue, especially when storms come in, and some days are better than others.  How can I commit to an employer when I have no idea when I can be there and when I can’t?  I’m not the same person that I was before Fibromyalgia and I’m still learning what I can and cannot handle.  Employment is something that unless I’m my own boss and working at home is unfathomable to me.  I have to start from square one and if it turns out that what I start I can’t complete that is a whole other psychological war that I’m not ready to fight yet.  So for now I’m learning how to stay healthy when I’ll never be the healthy that I was before.  One of the major complications of Fibromyalgia is that you have half the energy you had before.  And if you use more than you should, you pay.  That is a completely different post.  I feel like I say that a lot.  Maybe you never stop learning because life constantly throws you new experiences.  Fibromyalgia has thrown me so many different changes all at once that I have to focus on one at a time until I’m in control of my life again.  I’ll let you know when shaking my booty is old hat again.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

