Fibronaut At Home

Pain is a real pain in the you know what!

on March 14, 2012

I’m not sure I’m ready to write about my pain yet.  Even when I sound or look like I feel well, I’m feeling some sort of pain.  I am asked how I’m feeling and I’m torn.  I don’t want to lie and say I feel fine when I don’t but I get tired of being the object of pity.  Debbie Downer has nothing on me.  If I do say I’m feeling fine, I always end up going into more detail because I’m always asked if I’m getting better.  I have to accept that there is no cure for Fibromyalgia and part of that acceptance for me is helping others to understand that there is no cure.  I will always have pain.  At the same time, I don’t feel like anyone can truly understand what it is like to wake up every morning, knowing that you are going to have some sort of pain that day with no idea why that particular part of your body is hurting.  In my case, I’m usually in pain before I wake up in the morning and that is what wakes me up and alerts me that I need to take my medication.  The only thing that changes is where that pain is.  Sometimes I say there are good days and bad days.  The reality is, there are good moments and there are bad days.  On a normal day I can be feeling fine one second and the next I’m looking for a place to sit down.  On a bad day, I feel like I have the flu.  I’m fatigued, most of my joints hurt and my entire body aches.

I’m sensitive about this subject especially because before I was even diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, having only been on my pain meds for a couple months, I was accused of being an addict.  I cannot tell you how much that hurt or how angry that made me.  Here I was, struggling with depression, my life in tatters due to this mystery illness, and someone I hadn’t even seen in person since the illness hit me was telling people that I was addicted to my pain meds.  I was getting no high from these drugs, they weren’t even fully relieving the pain that I was experiencing and that is why I am not an addict.  This has stuck with me so much that I’m in the process of working with my doctor to wean myself off the narcotics even though my pain has gotten worse since we’ve begun this process!  I don’t want to go back to where I was last year where my pain was so bad at times that I did not want to live, but I want to be off all this medication.

When asked by my doctor last year, before I was even diagnosed, what my goal was, I said I wanted to be pain-free.  I’m now having to cope with the fact that I will never be pain-free.  Where does that leave me?   My doctor told me that Fibromyalgics experience pain at a level 10 times worse than a normal person.  What does that really mean?  My daughter can’t lay her head on my shoulder.  The pressure from my kitty stepping on me causes me to jump.  A couple pieces of beef jerky and I couldn’t chew on one side of my mouth for a week.  My husband pulled me in for a hug, barely touching me with his fingertips and it felt like he was digging them into my sides.  I can’t wear high heels anymore, and any kind of walking makes my feet hurt.  I could go on and on.

I always try to finish on a positive note but I got nothin’ on this one.

3 responses to “Pain is a real pain in the you know what!

  1. Hey Fibronaut!

    Just trying to give you a positive:
    I’ve decided that I’m taking advantage of my good moments. I am NOT pacing myself (like everyone says) because it doesn’t matter – I will still have pain (maybe more, maybe less) when that moment is gone. But I am REFUSING to miss out on life when I do feel ok. I do not want to sit on my couch for the rest of my life – so yes! I’m going to walk too far on a gorgeous day, at the baech, with a friend and her puppy!

    Grab the good moments with everything that you have!
    Simone

    • csgomez79 says:

      Thanks purplelawlady! I read your most recent post and I posted on yours also. I’m gonna feel terrible no matter what, might as well have a little fun, right?

  2. I would like to honour you with the Fibro Fighter Award (http://fibromodem.wordpress.com/the-fibro-fighter-award/).

    Congratulations! Please feel free to recommend other bloggers whom you think worthy of this tribute.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

