Fibronaut At Home

Glutton for Gluten-Punishment

on July 31, 2012

When I first went gluten-free I made a joke about not eating chocolate cake in front of me. Well, in the last week, chocolate cake has been under my nose twice and I couldn’t help myself. My three-year-old didn’t want the rest of her cake and I couldn’t let it go to waste. What kind of example would that be? At the same birthday party I also ate a mini turkey sandwich. It wasn’t my fault. There was a little umbrella stuck in each sandwich. They were too cute to resist! I arrived at the party looking six months pregnant and I left looking ready to pop. I should mention that I’m not pregnant, I just can’t get rid of this tummy! I’m not sure if the pain I felt afterwards was from eating the gluten or from driving the 20 minutes to the party and following my three-year-old around a splash-park that she refused to get splashed by. I’m still having bouts of pain even when I don’t have any gluten.

I finally finished preparing my appeal to the disability company, with my hubby’s help. I’ll let you know how that turns out.

I know that walking is supposed to be the most gentle exercise but I hurt so freaking bad after a two-block walk to the library. I didn’t know if I’d make it home I hurt so bad. Now I’m so exhausted that I feel like I’m going to fall asleep. Typing this, there is not a muscle in my legs or arms that isn’t aching.

I was recently given the advice to not think about the pain. Yeah. How am I supposed to do that exactly?

5 responses to “Glutton for Gluten-Punishment

  1. TTD says:

    Pretty new blue flowers at the top 🙂

    I know exactly what you mean about gentle walking being agony. After 10 minutes I’m in agony, and have to rest for half an hour before I can move again.

    Isn’t it strange how some foods just jump into our mouths like that, lol?!

    • csgomez79 says:

      It was the most delicious thing ever. I’m told Betty Crocker makes cake mixes that are gluten-free and I love their gluten-free bisquick but I haven’t tried them yet.

  2. thinkingbeingdoing says:

    I have the same problem with gluten. I’m still having Celiac/a gluten intolerance ruled out, but I never noticed being in pain after eating a pretzel or a cookie until right before I was diagnosed with fibro last March. I’m all about the gluten-free, but sometimes I just want real people bread…

    • csgomez79 says:

      Sometimes a chocolate chip cookie (Seriously, my Mom was baking fresh cookies!) or a piece of chocolate cake come my way and I can’t help myself, but I always pay later.

  3. painfighter says:

    I’m gluten intolerant for over 2 years now. My symptoms hit 3 hours after eating gluten. Even with the tiniest little bit of gluten, I’m sick as a dog for 3 days and can’t get out of bed. Needless to say, I have no problem staying gluten free as it just isn’t worth feeling that miserable. I do miss being able to order pizza though! Especially when my husband orders one and I can’t have any…

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project â„¢

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

Addiction, Mental Health, Stigma, Spirituality

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

