Fibronaut At Home

Being a Mommy with Fibromyalgia

on August 6, 2012

Hugs shared with love, smelling of cookies and offered with arms softer than silk, hurt.

Cuddling on the couch, watching movies or reading books, happens less and less.

Every touch has the potential to cause pain.

Knobby knees and pointy elbows, need I say more?

Screaching, squealing, screaming, oh my!

Laundry and dishes, breakfast, snack, lunch, snack and dinner, over and over and over again.

After a half hour of cleaning, at the slowest pace possible, the job is incomplete and your energy is depleted, you hobble/walk to the couch only to hear “Mommy!  I’m hungry!”.  Up you jump/stumble to the kitchen.  You hobble/walk back to the couch only to hear “Mom!  So-and-so did this-and-that to me-or-us!”.  Get the idea?

Disciplinary threats are ignored because those little stinkers can tell if I’m feeling too poorly to follow-up and they know for a fact that I can’t make it downstairs on my really bad days.  It’s the “make me” attitude to the tenth power.

When I’m crying, even though I don’t want them to know I’m sad, they tell me “It’s okay Mommy”.

When I’m depressed and questioning my existence, they need me and I’m so happy I’m here and that someone needs me.

While they used to just throw themselves into me, they’ve learned not to jump on Mom and how to give soft hugs.

They help me with dishes and laundry.  They pick up the living room, vacuum, sweep and mop.

I used to be the Mom who did it all.  Worked 40 hours a week, did all the inside chores, took kids to school and practice.

Now I can barely do the Mom thing.

Let’s not talk about the wife thing.  That is a whole other post!

11 responses to “Being a Mommy with Fibromyalgia

  1. TTD says:

    (((hugs)))

  2. E very…. single….word…. hits the nail on the head. You forgot the days you miss because of fog or sleeping all day because you CAN’T wake up, except to pee. Or the times when you can’t sleep because of insomnia and the next morning/ day the kids are especially whiny and you can’t remember if you took your meds or even ate and all you want to do is crawl in a hole and hide….

    Thankfully we have each other and can vent to SOMEONE huh?
    Hope you’re feeling decent today.

  3. Reblogged this on chronicpainsurvivor and commented:
    Fibronaut At Home shares her experiences of being a mother while living with Fibromyalgia.

  4. rachelmeeks says:

    Amen!

    I’m a young lady dreaming of being a mom, but already I see my illness keeping me from doing “the wife thing.” How could I ever be a mom, then? I ask myself. But it doesn’t make the longing go away.

    • csgomez79 says:

      I consider myself lucky that I didn’t have a serious flare until I was 31 and that I started my family early. I’ve had fatigue and pain since high school but just thought I was whiny or overly-sensitive. Fortunately, my hubby is awesome and has been my rock through all of the changes that the F-bomb (fibromyalgia) has wrought.

  5. fallingoutofthefog says:

    Once again, I can relate to everything you wrote. My daughter has learned not to squeeze me as hard as she used to, and sometimes I have to ask her to not lean on me when she snuggles up to me. It breaks my heart. She’s 11 and I know we’re coming up on the time when she’ll want less and less to do with me, so I try to treasure these times while I have them, but sometimes I just can’t. As for cleaning… well, that’s not happening much these days either, but that is another post.

    Anyway, just wanted to say I can relate.

    • csgomez79 says:

      So glad you could relate but sorry you could relate too. I get especially depressed about it when I’m around other mother’s who are healthy. They don’t know how good they have it.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

