Fibronaut At Home

The Fibromyalgia Handbook-Step 2

on September 10, 2012

I am currently reading The Fibromyalgia Handbook: A 7-Step Program to Halt and Even Reverse Fibromyalgia, Third Edition by Harris H. McIlwain, M.D. and Debra Fulghum Bruce, M.S.  I have to start out by saying that after my last post, I finished reading Step 1: Start With Medical Treatment and found that the author said almost the same thing I did.

“Although there is no quick fix, you can find success with treatment using a trial-and-error procedure.” (pg. 97)

While this is an extremely frustrating process and can leave you feeling like a guinea pig, with Fibromyalgia, there is little choice.  That doesn’t mean that finding the correct mix of medications and supplements is impossible but it is different for everyone.  My doctor made a very valid point to me.  It was something that I had read before but didn’t really consider being a problem for me.  Just because you have fibromyalgia, doesn’t mean you don’t have anything else.  The majority of blogs I’ve read on Fibromyalgia are written by people suffering from more than just Fibromyalgia.  My problem is that my old doctors were saying that all I had was Fibromyalgia and wouldn’t look at anything else or even consider that maybe my normal was different than the standard normal.  As soon as I said the “F” word (Fibromyalgia), nothing else was considered.  My doctor is currently running a clinical trial on me to see if thyroid medication would help me because I have almost every symptom of under-active thyroid.  He also has me taking adrenal support and magnesium malate.  My previous doctors wouldn’t even consider doing anything like that.  My former neurologist also gave me a big speech about how the vitamin industry is not regulated and tried to tell me that generic medications are only required to contain 20% of the medication (according to my insurance company this is false).  He really discouraged anything not put out by the drug companies.  Step 1, in a nutshell, is start with moist heat twice a day and if you still have pain then add medications.

Step 2 is to exercise daily for mobility and energy.  One of the big questions I had at the beginning of this chapter came out of this statement:

“…exercise is more effective in easing the symptoms of fibromyalgia than medication or alternative treatments.” (pg.99)

If exercise is so successful, why not start with that?  I’m pretty sure that every doctor I’ve seen has suggested yoga, but I was reluctant to believe that yoga would cure all my ills.  One of the hardest things for me to understand with this disease is that there is no quick fix and no magic pill.  At least not yet.  I’ve since started doing the stretches contained in Step 2 and have begun to notice the benefits.  I listen to my body and when I feel the tightness start, I do the warm-up and then the stretches.  I’m considering going back to a physical therapist, although the last time was torture.  One of the ideas in this chapter that I really like is to warm-up and do stretches before doing daily living activities like showering, laundry, or dishes.  My biggest obstacle to working out has always been that I don’t have time with all the other things I have to get done, especially when most normal daily living activities take all the energy I have.  I also have the DVD Anchor Bay’s Healing Yoga for Aches and Pains (thanks again to my awesome library) and whenever I am at home and feel in a lot of pain despite all the pills I’m taking, doing just the first section of deep breathing and stretching helps.  I would also like to try out the warm water pool we have nearby (25 min. drive) but I’m still waiting to hear on my disability appeal.

This chapter has a lot of great alternative ideas for getting exercise daily and explains how to divide your day so that you do get in the necessary exercise and stretching.  I would encourage all my fellow Fibro Fighters to check out this chapter if you are having trouble getting motivated to exercise or if you are like me and just don’t think you have the time.

5 responses to “The Fibromyalgia Handbook-Step 2

  1. painfighter says:

    Exercise is the best medicine for fibromyalgia. I know from experience. I exercise 35-40 minutes a day on most days, and I do at least some yoga and a 15 minute walk on my really bad days. Yoga is amazing. Yoga boils down to stretching and moving while breathing. If you focus on your breath while doing your basic stretches, you might get an even better result. I do long, deep breaths which are very calming and relaxing. Good luck!

    • csgomez79 says:

      Exactly! I can’t believe how different I feel after doing yoga. I’m definitely a believer now. Even if the only walking I do is from my van to the front of my kids’ school, I still feel like I’ve accomplished something.

  2. Gospel Restoration says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I’m learning a lot about fibro and trying to learn different techniques to manage pain and stay sane. I’ve been trying to incorporate more exercise lately, and it does seem to make a difference, although some days I just feel so exhausted that the thought of it makes me want to whimper! Gotta keep on trying. I like the idea of stretching before daily living activities, because yes, getting a shower feels like a workout! Thanks again!

  3. I think one of the most frustrating things about fibromyalgia is the trial and error aspects of treatment. I’ve heard so many people say so many different things work for them it makes my head spin. I’m pretty satisfied with my current regimen, but I always wonder if I should do something more than the exercise and medication I’m currently on.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

