Fibronaut At Home

Advice Please

on October 2, 2012

I’m still waiting to hear on my disability appeal.  According to the disability company, they have reached out to my doctor and he hasn’t responded and according to my doctor’s office, they haven’t heard anything.  I just don’t know what to do.  We have no money and going to this doctor is already problematic because he is so far away.  My hubby drives me to my Mom the night before appointment, which is 3 hours round-trip and then my Mom takes me to my appointment and drives me home with is another 3 hours round-trip for her.  I just don’t know if it is worth it to continue seeing this doctor.  What to do?  I’m pretty close to just finding another doctor but with the appeal process being an ongoing thing I don’t want to chance them denying me again while I’m in between appointments.  That is what started this whole mess.  Also, the doctor I’m seeing now charges $50.00 any time he has to fill out disability paperwork, which is not in our budget at all and would be a monthly expense if I was re-approved.  The thing I really like about him is that he thinks outside-the-box in regards to this illness and has helped me more than any other doctor I’ve seen.  Ugh.  I hate this.

3 responses to “Advice Please

  1. If this doctor has helped you more than any other and thinks outside the box, I think you should contiinue seeing him. I think fibro requires outside of the box thinking for proper treatment, so if he’s willing to do that, I say stick with him. Can disability send the paperwork to you? Or resend it to the doctor’s office? Have you confired they have the right fax number? It took me two years to get CVS to update their records with my doctor’s fax number for refill requests. Something as simple as that can easily foul up the whole process. If you’ve seen the doctor before, would he be willing to do some follow up over the phone? That way you wouldn’t have to come into his office every time. Hang in there! Disability is going to make you jump through hoops to get approved. I did an 11-week leave of absence from work this year and I had to get the short-term disability approved multiple times. My company had its own paperwork my doctor had to fill out. The insurance company had it’s own paperwork that my rheumatologist and my GP had to fill out. Then halfway through the leave my doctors had to sign off that yes, I did need the rest of my leave before insurance would continue my benefits. You just have to keep pestering people and filling out forms until they realize you won’t give up and approve you. They want to keep their money, you have to stay stubborn and on point to get what you deserve. Good luck!

    • csgomez79 says:

      It would also help if they would give me the whole story. Disability gave them until Oct 11th to fill out the paperwork and they plan on taking that time. Really wish they would hurry it up though!

  2. Becki says:

    I don’t know if this is an option, but is it possible to have a three-way phone call with the doctors office and the insurance company? Then you can hear directly if your the company has the right information for your doctors office. Then both parties know you are actively involved and aren’t going to give up on it. The ins company might be able to give them a time frame for the paperwork so that the doctor is expecting it, and then you know when to check back.
    Just a thought. Good luck.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

Addiction, Mental Health, Stigma, Spirituality

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

