Fibronaut At Home

Do-whack-a-do-whack-a-do

on November 7, 2012

It has been 5 weeks since I’ve written anything.  Consequently, the little hamster in my head feels like he’s cornered with no chance of escape.  I’ve been fighting panic and anxiety.  My disability appeal with the long-term disability company was denied.  I haven’t been keeping my daily goal of writing in my journal or doing meditation or yoga every day but I have kept my goal of showering, washing dishes or laundry and hugging and kissing the kids and hubby and telling them “I love you.”

I have started seeing a therapist.  She is awesome.  This is my first foray into therapy so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but so far I am really liking her approach, which is holistic and I’m feeling positive that she can help me.  My parents even commented on how much better my attitude seemed and that was after only one session.  I was debating whether to write about this or not.  Then I read a blog post by Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars and I felt like I needed to put this out there.  I realized that whether people reading this would judge me was not important.  Therapy is helping me.  I’m not a bad person because I need it.  I’m broken and I’ve been broken for a long time.  Taking this step was huge for me.

Whacks, according to my therapist, are those automatic thoughts that pop in your head where you put yourself down or others put you down.  So, here’s to whacking myself less and loving myself more.

Side Note:  If you aren’t familiar with Roger Miller, he is the best.

6 responses to “Do-whack-a-do-whack-a-do

  1. painfighter says:

    Therapy has been a huge help to me. Good for you! I hope it continues to help you!

  2. painfighter says:

    As long as you find the right person for your, therapy can be a big help. Just be kind to yourself. Therapy has been hard work for me but has been a huge help too.

  3. TTD says:

    Therapy helped me when I was in a bad depression. It’s amazing how talking to a complete stranger helps. It is hard work, and can leave you feeling emotional drained, but it’s so worth it. Oh, and it’s nothing to feel ashamed of. If people judge you, they’re not worth bothering with.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

