Fibronaut At Home

TMI/NSFW/Nof for the little ones

on December 18, 2012

My hubby sent me the following e-mail last Friday:

I told you so…Winking smile

 I thought you would be interested in this: The Hidden Health Benefits of Sex (http://healthyliving.msn.com/health-wellness/women/sex/the-hidden-health-benefits-of-sex-3#scptmh)

Now, I am willing to try just about anything when it comes to feeling better.  Yoga.  Meditation.  Acupuncture.  Supplements.  Gluten-free.  Grounding.  I’ve tried all of these with varying results.  Being the open-minded person I am and due to a severe headache along with various other fibro-related aches, I decided to put “sexual-healing” to the test.  I first tried a muscle relaxer, a naproxen, a heating pad and a eucalyptus-spearmint Epsom salt bath.  When the combination of these did nothing to dull the ache in my head, I decided to give my hubby the “benefit” (wink, wink) of the doubt and let him attempt to sex me back to health.  Well guess what?  It didn’t work!  I think my headache was actually worse.  And if you read the article and noticed that it says the big O is important, trust me, I do not have that problem.

I have further evidence that “sexual-healing” is not that effective in the treatment of fibromyalgia from last night as well.  Last night was BOW-CHICKA-WOW-WOW epic and today I am a waste of space.  My neck and the tender-points at the base of my skull hurt so bad.  We are getting a storm in and that probably doesn’t help but seriously.  This is a perfect example of the mind-screw that fibromyalgia is.  Even when you are enjoying something, when you pay so heavily for your enjoyment, you start to dread the thing that you love the most.

Another example of this is laughter.  They say laughter is the best medicine and I love to laugh.  If you don’t believe me, go to my Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/SueGomez79) and watch the video from Sunday (you probably have to friend request first).  I enjoyed the heck out of that dinner.  The food, the conversation and the laughter.  But after a couple hours, my feet hurt from my boots, my butt hurt from the chair, my face hurt from the chewing/laughing/talking/smiling combination, my neck hurt from the hour-long drive to the restaurant and I was ready to lay my head down on the table for a nap.  I remembered the last time we ate there and ordered accordingly because even though I love crab legs, my arms and hands hurt so bad from cracking the last time and I just didn’t want to deal with that.  We also had my husband’s Christmas party the night before and it was the same thing.  The person we sat with at dinner had me cracking up but then my face hurt so bad I had to massage it to keep my cheeks from cramping.  I wore high heel boots for the first time since my diagnosis.  On our way to the second part of the party at a bowling alley, we had to buy me comfy slippers because my feet, legs and hips were starting to cramp up.  A couple people thought I was asleep at the bowling alley because I was sitting there in the middle of the party meditating because I hurt so bad.  Then a well-meaning person came up behind me and started to rub my shoulders.  I was polite but I really just wanted to go home at that point.

The busy weekend left me spending yesterday recovering and not getting much done.  Today, I’m obviously not feeling much better and I’m pretty exhausted.  My holistic doctor gave me a new medication to try when I absolutely have to get something done but don’t have the energy.  It is called Nuvigil and I only took a quarter of a pill because I’m so sensitive to medication.  It helped me get to the school to get the kids but I still hurt so I’m not sure I’ll get much else done today.  I think I can probably speak for my hubby in saying that we still hold out hope that the benefits of sex will outweigh the pain caused.  Maybe me and the hubby are doing it wrong.  We’ve had a lot of practice but there’s always room for improvement.

 

7 responses to “TMI/NSFW/Nof for the little ones

  1. csgomez79 says:

    Had I known this was my 69th post, I would’ve named it differently. HAHAHAHA!!!!

  2. Becki says:

    That is hilarious – your 69th post! You know, I have never had any luck with the adage that sex can actually help a headache by diverting the blood to your nether regions. I think they should say “These are just somethings that someone somewhere found helpful.” But for me, sex is worth the pain – in moderation though!

    • csgomez79 says:

      Typing this post gave me a headache but singing along to Imagine Dragons made it go away. Maybe a quickie would have more benefit for me. I’m sure we’ll keep experimenting. LOL!

  3. adaftlifer says:

    Excellent post! It gives me some ideas for my own Fibromyalgia blog. I’m sure I’ll enjoy more of your posts and will take the time to go through your archive. 🙂 Be well.

  4. painfighter says:

    I love your tagging on this post PS. Cracked me up. I have the same issues with sex and my fibro. I do love the few minutes after the big O when I am totally pain free though. If only I could stay in that moment forever.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

