Fibronaut At Home

Heart to Heart

on January 10, 2013

At my doctor appointment today he asked me to keep a journal.  I told him how much I sucked at journal writing.  He said to focus on the painful things that have happened in my past that still affect me.  I have always hated writing in a journal because I feel like I am never honest with myself.  I will write something, read it and then edit it, worrying about someone else reading it.  I think I imagine that someday, after I’m dead, someone will find what I’ve written and judge me badly.  If I’m worm-food at that point, why do I care?  I usually end up destroying any of my writing I come across.  In middle school I got my first diary, had it broken into and read aloud by a sibling.  I destroyed it immediately after.  In high school I wrote notebooks full of poetry that I destroyed in college.  Surprisingly, this blog is as honest and open as I’ve ever been and it is on the internet forever.

I just had a heart to heart with someone who I care about and it made me realize something.  It is unfair of me to constantly edit myself, especially with those people I love and care about.  I expect honesty from my loved ones, but I hide part of myself from them, worried that they would judge me negatively.  My new mantra is “What other people think about me is none of my business” but I’m not really practicing that if I’m constantly smiling and nodding like some drone, afraid to show the real me.  If one person I love is speaking negatively about another person I love, why shouldn’t I be brave enough to stick my neck out there?  Were the situation involving someone I didn’t like speaking negatively about someone I love, I would have no qualms about sticking up for my loved one.

The epiphany I had today: There is nothing therapeutic about keeping a journal in which I am dishonest with myself.

What that means for my blog is that it is time to get serious.  I’ll still post goofy, fun, TMI-stuff from time to time too, but life can’t all be unicorns farting rainbows and butterflies belching glitter.  If this blog is going to be my journal and if I want to get anything worthwhile out of it, I’m going to have to go to some pretty uncomfortable places.  Good thing I have the internet, so no matter where I go, I’m never alone.

5 responses to “Heart to Heart

  1. becki says:

    Reading this made me think of myself. I have done the same things. Wes used to laugh at me because he said he could always tell when I was thinking too much about my response and editing myself. I started my blog because my friend Noel told me that I shouldn’t keep saying what I really thought about on FB because everyone thought I was weird. I am starting to realize that I am unhappy censoring myself, and should I really have to? I try to be non-judgemental of others, so why am I being judgemental of myself? Good luck with your journal. I hope it helps you.

  2. TTD says:

    This is why I don’t do my blog. I’m a fairly private person, and the thought of other people (strangers at that!) knowing my inner thoughts and feelings, and me admitting them to myself, is frankly terrifying! I wonder if you will inspire me?!

    • csgomez79 says:

      It is going to take me a while to be able to do this. I’ve been trying not to dwell on it, but right now I have a ton of negative thoughts trying to break through. It isn’t going to be easy but it will hopefully be worth it.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

