Fibronaut At Home

Who’s Foolin’ Who?

on April 1, 2013

Happy April Fool’s Day.  How have I made a fool of myself?  Let me count the ways.

My nieces came to visit and I painted all their nails.  I can barely paint my own nails, so why did I think I could do seven little girls nails and not suffer the consequences?  After the third little girl’s base coat, my two eldest nieces noticed my hands shaking.  By the time I was done, my shoulder’s ached, my neck was spasming and my hands had sharp pains running through them.  That continued through the next day and it wasn’t until the following day that I could finally paint my own.

I let my kids get bunnies actually thinking that they would be the ones taking care of them.  So far, only my nine-year-old daughter has been helping to feed and water them.  I don’t even want to think about cleaning up their poop.  I’ll be lucky if the kids make it through one cage cleaning.

Abigail, Honey Bunny and Thumper

Abigail, Honey Bunny and Thumper

Since my hubby was not behind the bunny idea, I knew that he’d really let me hear it if I asked him to build a roof for the bunny cage.  I decided to do it myself.  I took measurements, made a “plan” and had three little helpers.  How hard could it be?  Problem #1:  I haven’t built anything since shop class in middle school and all I remember making is a metal hook and a leather key-chain.  Problem #2:  I have never used a circular saw in my life, so I went with the hand saw.  Problem #3:  I have Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  I took breaks and I had the children for the heavy lifting but they couldn’t use the saw so that portion of the program was all me.  Let’s just say that the size, shape and “plan” for a lean-to became four pieces of wood, staple-gunned together to make a kind-of roof.  That was three days ago.  That evening every muscle in my body was screaming and I was so exhausted that I felt nauseous   The next day, I had muscle spasms on my muscle spasms, could barely walk or sit.  I sat, just not comfortably.  Yesterday, I started the trip to my Mom’s with a migraine, I rested all the way there and took a nap once we arrived and it hurt to lift my fork at Easter dinner.

With all the bunny drama, you’d think I’ve been taking it easy.  There is a little problem with that. I had cut some fabric earlier in the week to make myself a shirt to wear on Easter.  I had yet to sew my shirt when our family grew by three bunnies, so instead of taking it easy on Easter Eve, I was sewing.  I was basically sewing two rectangles together with a waistband but even the small movements required for pinning and using the sewing machine made my arms and legs hurt.  My Dad told me I should sell clothes I make on the internet.  The things that I sew take 10 times the effort and time that they take a healthy person and the only reason it is worth it to sew these things is the happiness in brings me and my kids.

Not yet sure if it was worth all the pain it caused to create.

Not yet sure if it was worth all the pain it caused to create.

I won tickets from a radio station to Disney on Ice.  I needed to go to Denver to pick up the tickets on a weekday.  I actually tried to make plans to drive to my Mom’s house, an hour and a half away, on my own.  The last time I tried to drive longer than 20-30 minutes, I was in pain and fatigued for four days afterward.  After thinking about it, I cancelled those plans and made new ones that didn’t involve me doing any driving.

Yesterday, I had a joy-thief, one of those people who isn’t happy unless they are making everyone else miserable, say some nasty things about my wonderful hubby.  She had me so mad that I actually rinsed everyone’s plates at Easter dinner and helped load the dishwasher.  I know she’s a joy-thief and I still let her get to me.  I hope she reads this so she knows I’m on to her and her bull that she tries to pull every holiday.

As if me fooling myself isn’t bad enough, my three-year-old just locked me outside.  I had to ring the doorbell a bunch and yell at the top of my lungs to get her to let me in.  She tried it again when we picked up her older siblings from school.  Luckily, they leave the keys in the door so I was able to let myself back in.

As usual, I’m sure I could think of about a hundred other examples of ways in which I’ve fooled myself but I have trouble remembering anything that happened beyond last week.  No joke here.  All of these ridiculous shenanigans happened in the last week.  April Fool’s Day must be my favorite holiday.  I celebrate all year long.

7 responses to “Who’s Foolin’ Who?

  1. csgomez79 says:

    I should have waited to post this until the end of the day. My three-year-old got in one last April Fool’s Day surprise. Here is what I shared on my Facebook page:

    We all learned a lesson today. Aden and Katie learned not to leave Emma alone outside with bunnies in their run. Why? Because Emma is a big girl and thinks she can be the bunny whisperer, lift up the run, let a bunny out and the bunny will come to her. Katie and I spent and hour trying to lure the bunny out of the rose bush with a carrot, a bowl of water and a broom stick. I also did the most gardening that I’ve done in two years with a branch trimmer to get rid of the new growth on the rose bush so I could almost reach the bunny. Then I used a box and a blanket and laid on my side, tried to grab the bunny, who ran blindly into the box. Just call me Macgyver. Also, special thanks to the hubby, who left the dead squirrel under the rose bush. That was an extra special treat. I can barely move my arms. I told the kids, if this happens again, it is going to be the Aden, Katie and Emma show. On a positive note, I can now confirm that I have ab muscles as every single one of them is hurting.

  2. TTD says:

    ((((hugs))))

  3. csgomez79 says:

    The insanity continues. I just shared this on my Facebook page:

    Trying to catch a bunny is nothing compared to trying to catch a zebra finch. This is no joke. I’m reading and drinking my coffee, I hear fluttering and chirping, more than normal and Alice is suddenly really interested in the bird. The cage we got from Goodwill opens really easily but I didn’t think the bird would figure out how to lift the door. The zebra finch is sitting on TOP of the cage. I stared at it for 30 seconds thinking my mind was playing tricks on me. A zebra finch is smarter than me. Now the bird is flying freely in my house from ceiling fan to curtain rod to ceiling fan while I try to catch it in a box. I don’t have the energy for this. Does anyone have any ideas for how I can catch this thing?

    • TTD says:

      I had this problem when we had a budgie, so I know how you feel.

      Put something at the door of the cage that your finch can perch on. When it gets hungry it will go in the cage to feed. As they use energy to fly, it shouldn’t be too long before it gets hungry, hopefully!

      Good luck!

      • csgomez79 says:

        I was finally able to catch it using a baby bottle basket and a picture frame. My cat is now staring at the bird in the cage just waiting for the bird to get out again. I tightly secured the door with paperclips so hopefully this won’t happen again.

      • TTD says:

        I t’ought I saw a pussy cat, a creeping up on me. . !

  4. Monique"s FM/CFS Blog says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I am now following you and look forward to reading your future post. I really enjoyed this one…

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

Addiction, Mental Health, Stigma, Spirituality

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

