Fibronaut At Home

A Question

on August 25, 2013

I have a question for everyone, that I hope you’ll take the time to help me answer.  I have some people friended on my Facebook page from my life pre-fibromyalgia.  It isn’t that I don’t like them, it is just that it sometimes makes me so sad when I see their posts.  They may check my Facebook page from time to time, and I obviously check in with them.  The difference is I always make an effort to like or comment their posts, and the only time I “hear” from them is when their posts pop up in my news feed or I visit their page.  Since their posts have such an effect on me, do you think I should unfriend them?  I just don’t know.  I know that I don’t like it when I go to message someone that I don’t see very often has unfriended me, so I don’t really wan’t to give someone those bad vibes.  I would really appreciate your advice.

7 responses to “A Question

  1. adventures says:

    I think surrounding yourself with uplifting, positive, and encouraging people is best 🙂 Much luck on your decision dear. There are many people out there that have common interests and similar life issues that would participate with you more.

  2. thingsyoudream says:

    I think if their posts are getting you down then maybe hide them from your newsfeed if you don’t want to unfriend them. But like you said the only time you ‘hear’ from them is when they pop up on your news feed. So maybe it isn’t worth keeping them if they are not going to make you happy. You need to surround yourself with positive people! Keep Strong! 🙂

  3. adaftlifer says:

    If it is hurting you to never hear from them, then perhaps you should. If you can go on commenting and liking posts without the need for reciprocity, then don’t unfriend them. I sometimes feel the same way, but I try to put things in perspective. I have so many posts in my feed that it is near impossible to keep up with them all, but that doesn’t mean I care any less about most of them. Sometimes it is a matter of not enough time to devote to FB (as shocking as that sounds lol).

    Take WordPress for example, this is my first time opening my reader in probably six months, and not for lack of desire to read others’ posts, but rather my own personal things. I am glad that I did and glad that I read yours. Good luck to you. Keep your chin up.

  4. juliasarahelizabeth says:

    I will be honest, i struggle with those same feelings too. This was the worst summer ever. I am not saying this for pity. I am saying it b/c you sound exactly like me. I have been in bed with rheumatoid arthritis all summer. I also have FMS, insomnia, RLS, TMJ, PCOS, migraine, etc. A “friend” told me once that if i were not careful, ppl would get bored and tired of me. I think ppl want to hear about happy things in life. They dont want to be reminded of even their own possible fragility. You could stay friends with them on fb, but remove them from your newsfeed. That has really helped as far as keeping the political maniacs quiet. 😉

  5. csgomez79 says:

    Thanks so much for the great advice. I didn’t realize I could “unfollow” them. Now, I can go check them out when I’m in the right state of mind and hopefully avoid any more emotional land mines.

  6. I unfollow all posts on people like this. I also just did a purge of “friends” who sided with my so called husband who I am in the process of divorcing. I couldn’t stand to see their posts or comments to him anymore. Of course, he has since unfriended and blocked me on Facebook so that solved that problem too. I also put some people in my acquaintances category so if there’s something I’m posting that I only want a group of trusted friends to see I select the “friends except acquaintances” to limit who can see my post.

  7. TTD says:

    I agree with the others who have said to surround yourself with positive people. I’ve put a few ‘friends’ into the ‘acquaintances’ category for this reason.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

