Fibronaut At Home

At Least We’re Still Laughing

on October 8, 2013

Today, my husband told me, “Your brain is so entertaining.”  He made this comment after I asked him, “Is there still traffic ahead?”  What I meant was, “Is there still construction ahead?”  I knew I wasn’t using the correct word, but my mouth just spits out whatever, like it’s too impatient for my brain to catch up.

I just had a wrong number phone call.  I told her, “You have the incorrect number.”  I kind of said it slowly, because I knew that wasn’t what I’d usually say and I knew it would sound funny, but I couldn’t come up with the word “wrong”.  Come on brain!  Wake up and use the correct words, please.

8 responses to “At Least We’re Still Laughing

  1. So sorry to hear that, I hate have that word soup problem where you replace a word with something ridiculous on occasion. It happens to the best of us, and so we struggle onward! Good luck finding the right words in the future and that your brain fights the pain to stay agile or witty!

    • csgomez79 says:

      I’ve found, if i think too hard, I forget what I’m trying to say anyway. I just put it out there and even though I’m saying the wrong thing, the kids and the hubby can usually figure out what I mean anyway.

  2. Julie says:

    Often I think Fibro Fog exists to give us something to laugh at during a time when we need to laugh.

  3. Astrid says:

    I stumbled upon your blog through another blog that happens to link to mine, even thoguh mine is more of an autism blog than a fibro/chronic illness blog. However, just as I read this post, I realize, woah, I can relate to this. When I read your post, and some others on fibro fog, I couldn’t keep from thinking that autistic overload has a lot of the same symptoms. Now I for one have a few fibro-like symptoms too.

    By the way, I really had to laugh at that first situation, although I had to think a bit about what you meant since English is my second language.

    • csgomez79 says:

      Glad you stopped by and could relate. I like to think I’m usually pretty clear when I write about situations that happen, but my brain is so sluggish this week. I’ve been struggling to get the correct words out. I wasn’t sure what “autistic overload” was, but when I looked it up on wikipedia, it came back with sensory overload and said that fibromyalgia patients can experience this. I never knew that fibro could have this associated with it, even though I’ve experienced every item on the list. Sorry to blather on. Thanks for visiting!

  4. fibee5 says:

    glad i’m not the only one to spurt wrong words 🙂 hope your brain wakes up soon

  5. Dragnfli says:

    There are those days I open my mouth and halfway through the sentence I pull a blank. No wrong word, just a complete blank. I am left there with my mouth hanging open like a goober until something approximating the right word comes into my brain. My husband has learned sometimes he needs to throw words in there until something sticks. I can relate.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

