Fibronaut At Home

Happy Halloween!!!

on November 1, 2013

I know, I’m late.  I was really going to post this yesterday, but after two Halloween parties in one day, I was not feeling very bueno.  It didn’t help that I didn’t get much sleep on Halloween Eve, either, but my nails looked pretty.

Image

 

Here’s how my day went:

  • Wake up at 6:45 am.  Meds, yogurt, coffee, then drive the kids to school.  You may notice that I don’t mention getting dressed.  That’s because I take my kids to school in my jammies on Tuesday and Thursday, because Emma stays at home and I don’t have to get out of the car.  Depending on the pajama pants I’m rocking, M-W-F may also be wear-your-jammies-to-drop-off-the-kids days.
  • Rest until 9 am then shower.  Can I just say, THANK GOD IT IS WINTER!!!  Shaving is optional.  If I don’t need to wash my hair, I can be in and out of the shower in 2 minutes.
  • 9:35 am, drive to Emma’s Halloween party.
  • Help serve the little munchkins for about half an hour, until I feel faint and realize I better sit down PDQ.
  • Follow Emma around from activity to activity, sitting whenever possible.  At this point, I couldn’t really hide the pain or fatigue anymore.  Emma didn’t notice, so that was good.
  • 11:40 am, drag Emma out of the party, because I still have to drive the 7 minutes home and I’m not even sure I can make it to the car.
  • Eat a quick lunch and take a nap while Emma watches TV.
  • 1:15 pm.  Already?  For real?  I feel like I’ve slept 5 minutes.  Up and out the door again.
  • 1:30 pm, stand around and then sit around at Katie’s party, while other Mom’s Mom it like a boss.  At this point, I had Emma asking other Mom’s to help her get treats.  We walked part of the parade route, which was absolutely ridiculous, because then, we had to walk through classrooms, where kids got to see what a hot mess Mom looks like.  Plus, Emma ran into a door handle, which prompted me to sprint her through that room, which messed up the kids on which way they were supposed to go.  That room had one of those Moms who couldn’t take that and caused a traffic jam trying to get them to go the correct way.  Then we walked by the playground.  It only took about 5 minutes before I deemed it acceptable to drag a screaming Emma off the equipment.  I just couldn’t handle the cold any more.
  • 3:30 pm.  Get all the kids home.  Sit on couch, under blankets, with rotating heating pads and musical massage music on the iPod.  Rest until, THANK GOD, Grandpa and Grandma show up and take Emma trick-or-treating.  Aden and Katie did a few houses by themselves.
  • Cam brought home pizza and I only had to deal with a minimal amount of trick-or-treaters while Cam took the kids around the neighborhood.
  • 9 pm.  Blissful sleep.

Today, I hurt like a mofo.  And I’m exhausted.  But, I don’t care.  It was so awesome to just be there for my kiddos yesterday.  Three years ago, I wasn’t even driving.  I’ll take this win.  

2 responses to “Happy Halloween!!!

  1. Trisha says:

    Wow! And I was complaining about my day being too busy! I’m glad you able to make it through all that. It’s always worth it to see the kids having fun.

  2. My husband used to take my youngest trick or treating once I got sick…it was probably one of the hardest things I had to give up. Rest well!

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

