Fibronaut At Home

Really?

on November 11, 2013

This post is brought to you by the letters P, M, and S.

My biggest challenge is learning to not worry about what others think of me.  I struggle with this every day, every moment, no matter what I’m doing or how I’m feeling.  This morning, I awoke to find that Mother Nature’s curse had begun its pillage on my body.  Of course, I am running low on supers, again.  My hubby is sick, so I know that I have to go to the grocery store myself this time.  We live in a small town and the nearest grocery store is in an equally small town.  Our little grocery store has a deli, with chairs and tables.  All the farmers gather there to have coffee.  Can you see where this is going?  When I worked, I worked at the local bank, where we catered to ag customers.  The tampons are a straight shot from the deli, so I went in that door.  I am unwashed, unbrushed, and in my pajamas.  Basically, the definition of a Hot Mess.

As I look up and focus, I see someone I recognize.  Do I smile?  No.  Wave?  No.  Why?  Because I automatically assume that those farmers can all tell why I’m there.  As if I just asked them, “Where are the tampons?”  Which sounds crazy, because it is crazy.  I look down at the ground, which doesn’t look guilty at all (sarcasm, cough, cough) and speed-walk past the seating area.  WTF!  Why am I speed-walking?!  It’s 8 o’clock in the morning!  Get ahold of yourself, Susie!  I start to say, “What other people think of you is none of your business”, except I mean to say it in my head, but I say it out loud.  Cheese and rice!  It is way too early for this.  I then, restart my mantra, but in my head this time.

There I am, speed-walking, through the frozen section (Dear God, I’m going to pay for this!), I find my tampons and head to the registers.  Sort of.  What I actually do, is walk through the meat section (Holy hip spasm, Batman!) and look down every aisle I pass until I see the register that is farthest from the farmer-r-us meeting at the deli.  I limp down this aisle and (Thank you Jesus!) find a register that is open that is not immediately next to the farmer-con convention in the deli.  I throw my one box of super tampons down.

That’s right.  No shame here.  At least, not anymore.  I’m totally bluffing.  I usually try to buy more than the tampons, like maybe a bunch of bananas and a loaf of bread with disguise the bright pink box of tampons and no one will see them sitting there, saying, “Look at what this woman’s buying!  Bet she’s in a bad mood today!”.  The nice lady in front of me smiles sympathetically and I just want to rip her face off.  Don’t acknowledge the embarrassment!!!  The last thing I want to do right now is acknowledge my embarrassment, but when you smile at me in that way, I’m forced to either shrug at you like, “I know, right?” or something else to let you know that I saw your smile.  I look away. 

There is a female cashier but there is a male bagger.  He is smart, though.  He is either married or very well-trained.  After assisting the lady in front of me, he walks away.  I think he might be psychic or he can just see his death in my eyes.  The female cashier ain’t the sharpest crayon in the box.  She puts my bright pink box of super tampons on the little shelf right in front of me.  Put it in a bag woman!  Are you serious?!  I realize she expects me to put them in my purse, but then it just looks like I’m hiding something even more.  And I am super paranoid about being suspected of shop lifting.  I hate to dig in my purse while in the grocery store.  Also, when you go to the register, you should leave with a bag.  Double bag that STAT!!! 

**sigh**

After I pay her convenience store prices for my tampons, I shove them in my purse and make all nicey-nice but I really want to throw them at her head.  I limp out of the door on the opposite side of where I came in, with my head down and my dignity in the frozen section.

4 responses to “Really?

  1. Dragnfli says:

    Ah, I remember those days. For most of it, I was on The Pill and so could plan a few days ahead and slip a box in with the other groceries. And then when I wasn’t onThe Pill and had gotten so irregular it could be only a week between things, I kept the cabinet fully stocked at all times, and slipped them in with the groceries. And then, my OB/GYN, bless her heart from here to doomsday, decided the whole mess had gone so wrong, it was time to take it ALL out. And that was a blessing to me. I haven’t done the menopause thing yet because I’m taking hormone replacement. We’ll see how that goes a few more years down the road.

  2. Bonnie N says:

    I’m sorry for your embarrassment, but you made me laugh so I thank you for that! I was so happy when I had my hysterectomy in 2004 and don’t have to deal with that anymore. I always hated buying my “women stuff” and would try to hide it amongst all the other items in my basket.
    Gentle Hugs,
    Bonnie

  3. TTD says:

    Oh how that brought back memories. I have Endometriosis too, so my periods were heavy with clots, before I had my ovaries removed and went on HRT. I now still get some pain, but only occasional light spotting.

    I changed from tampons to using a Mooncup. It can gross some women out just thinking about it, but once you use it, it’s fine. I emptied mine every time I went to pee, so if it coped with my Endo periods, I’m sure it would cope with your heavy period. Just think, no more tampon shopping!

    • csgomez79 says:

      I wanted to try those, but I have an IUD and they aren’t recommended for use with an IUD because you could pull out your IUD. My hubby read this post and said, “I think you freak out more about buying tampons than I do.” Ya think? At least when he buys them, they know they aren’t for him. LOL.

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

