Fibronaut At Home

Doctor Blues

on March 26, 2014

I don’t know if it is just me, but I get really sad after visiting the doctor.  I have felt blue all day.  I don’t know if it’s because there is really nothing new when I go there or if I’m let down because he doesn’t say, “Surprise!  There’s a miracle pill just for you!”  I have a feeling it’s a little of both.  Today, he talked to me about grape seed extract, fish oil and upping my thyroid meds three days a week to see if that helps.  He sells the grape seed extract for only $57.50.  No thank you.  I’m not saying it wouldn’t help, but I’m pretty sure I could get it cheaper somewhere else.  I was taking fish oil last year and he scoffed at it and said something about it not really helping anything.  Grrrr!  Now you want me to take it, but let me guess:  You want me to buy it from you.  He also gave me a list of online resources and other things I could do to have better days.  I’m already doing a lot of what he suggested, so I guess that’s good.

I’m torn between whether I should find a new doctor or not.  On the one hand, this doctor is very sympathetic to fibro and willing to think outside the box.  On the other hand, he is so far away, the hubby has to drive me, and he is always trying to sell me some kind of vitamin or herbal remedy.  I would love to find a doctor in my area, but dread going through the whole process.

10 responses to “Doctor Blues

  1. Renee says:

    Your doctor should never try to “sell” you anything. Ever. Please seriously think about a different doctor

    • csgomez79 says:

      I feel like all doctors are always trying to sell you on something. Usually it’s prescription medication that they are only recommending because the pharmaceutical companies stop by and give them free samples. I have lost a lot of faith in the medical community since fibro.

  2. Trisha says:

    I usually feel sad after going to the doctor too. They just don’t have much to offer.

  3. positivepain says:

    I have that exact same feeling every time. Deflated. I wonder if there’s still some part of me that hopes they will announce its actually something curable! I usually do something amazingly enjoyable after every docs appointment now. 🙂

  4. QuiltnMama says:

    I gave up on traditional medicine as it was obvious they only wanted to push pharmaceuticals at me. No thanks, I don’t want to be in pain AND have side-effects. I hope you find something that helps you get some relief.

    • csgomez79 says:

      Exactly! My doctor has always tried to get me to try Savella. I’ve heard it does miraculous things for some people, but I’ve also heard of people who have horrible side effects. I already went through enough side effects with Lyrica, Cymbalta, and narcotics.

      • QuiltnMama says:

        Yep, the Lyrica cured me trying anything else from the traditional medicine standpoint. Awful stuff created by Satan, I swear. Hang in there.

  5. suzycoulson says:

    I feel the same way. And not just when I’m there about my “difficult” illnesses. Even if I’m fighting a cold/flu or I’m nauseous etc…there’s never an answer for me. For some reason my body doesn’t like just getting a standard cold, it always has to throw something else in like an inflamed pancreas (serioulsy – who gets an inflamed pancreas from a cold!?). I wish that one day I’ll go in and they’ll have an answer.

    • csgomez79 says:

      I find that when I get a cold it takes me twice as long to get over it than it does my kids or my hubby and by then, they’ve brought something new home for me to catch. I’ve been drinking more green tea with honey, hoping this would help but I don’t really think it has. Oh well.

  6. I too find it hard after seeing the doctor knowing that he can’t do anything for me. I suspect he is often just as down too after speaking to me. There are times he is visibly upset that he can’t find any new ways to help me. It’s just so frustrating!

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

