Fibronaut At Home

Music is My Favorite Medicine

on May 6, 2014

No matter how I’m feeling, either physically or emotionally, music helps me get where I need to be more than anything else.  I’m sure I’d be in a lot more pain if I didn’t take my Naproxen and Baclofen.  I can’t sleep without a Baclofen and an Amitriptyline.  But the medicines I take aren’t always prescribed by the doctor.

Every night, I listen to Bedtime Beats: The Secret to Sleep after I take my nighttime meds at 9 pm.  They help me to chill out and focus on relaxation.  If I watch TV with my hubby, I usually have more trouble falling asleep, so I also limit that at night.

Every morning, I start my day sitting at my kitchen table (no bed laying or couch sitting when I’m trying to wake up), listening to American Authors, Young the Giant, The Ting Tings, New Politics, Paramore and OneRebuplic, just to name a few.  These bands all have songs that are very positive and encouraging.  They make me want to get up and get things done.  One of my favorites, that has really inspired me and become a mantra for me is Young the Giant’s, My Body.  The entire chorus is often sung at the top of my lungs:

My body tells me no 
But I won’t quit 
Cause I want more 
Cause I want more
My body tells me no 
But I won’t quit 
Cause I want more 
Cause I want more

I also love a song by Bleachers, I Wanna Get Better.  In my car or at my house, I sing the chorus and I believe it.  I do want to get better.  Every day I work on it and every day I make progress.

The entire American Authors album is awesome.  On Believer:

I’m just a believer
That things will get better
Some can take it or leave it
But I don’t wanna let it go

You guessed it.  I sing this at the top of my lungs too.  Don’t get me started on my family’s favorite, Best Day Of My Life.

I could go on and on about the music that puts me in the mood to kick some ass and take some names.  I also listen to Hip Hop, R&B, Rock, Folk and anything else that has a good beat and gets me out of my head.  Yesterday, there was some drama in my life and the song that snapped me out of it was Lily Allen’s, F*** You.  It’s a little bit naughty and if your offended by the f-bomb (the four letter word, not fibro, though, aren’t we all offended by fibro?), it may not be for you.  But when I’m angry, it helps to sing this at the top of my lungs and imagine that person standing in front of me.  I also really like Florence and the Machines’, Shake It Off.

Please share if you have any music that helps you get going.  I’m always looking for new songs to add to my “get off my butt” playlist.  I should also add that, while I like country music, it gets me all emotional, so I don’t generally listen to it.  Some Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Sugarland (their Incredible Machine album got me through some tough times), and The Band Perry is about all I can take.

Music is healing.  I cannot tell you the times a song has talked me down or lifted me up.  One of the most depressing things for me, at the beginning of my fibro, was not being able to shake my booty to the beat.  It devastated me.  Well, I’m very happy to say that I’m to the point where I can shake my booty again and often do.  It keeps me loose and makes me smile.  May you shake your booty like no one’s watching and sing like no one can hear you (even if your neighbors stare and all the dogs in the vicinity howl).

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

