Fibronaut At Home

Winning!

on May 16, 2014

I was cleaning my house and debating on whether I should post about how much better I’m doing.  I worry about how others will perceive my progress. Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome are not contests to see who has the most pain or is the most tired.  A lot of the Fibromyalgia support sites I follow on Facebook have too much if a “woe is me” attitude.  There was a time when I needed that and when I needed to feel like people understood what I was going through.  Every day, I move more towards a feeling that I don’t want Fibromyalgia and CFS to be the only thing people think about when they see me.  I don’t want to talk about it all the time, like I used to. I want to hear about you and your beautiful life and all the awesome things you are doing, despite this illness.  I want to talk about how much better I’m doing without hearing, “So, you’re better now?”  No.  I will never be cured.
I love all my fellow sufferers but, we need to remember something: Fibromyalgia and CFS are not terminal.  If you are suffering from other things, I totally understand how it’ll be different for you.  Everyone’s experience is different.  We shouldn’t judge others based on their experiences and we shouldn’t judge ourselves either.  For me, I have to remind myself daily that life is what I make it.  I have choices from the time I wake up until the time I go to bed.  I have to “suck it up” and do what I know I need to do.  When we are playing games and my kids ask me, “Am I winning?”, I always ask, “Are you having fun?”.  If their answer is yes, I tell them they are winning.  I guess the next time someone asks me how I’m doing, I’ll say I’m winning.

(Picture a super-satisfied smile on my face right now.  That’s how much I love me right now)

 

Keep it positive...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

theGoodVader

Growth, together

The Elephant in the Room

Writing about my experiences with: depression, anxiety, OCD and Aspergers

mystical lunarose

Chronic pain, Rhumatoid Arthritis, Alapecia Areata,Rants, and Raves

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Rentbillow's Blog

"RentBillow" spelled backwards is "WolliBtner" which means "awesome" in a language I just made up.

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Dr. Patty's Chronic-Intractable Pain and You Sites, Inc.

Always A Safe and Nonjudgmental Place To Talk About Your Chronic Pain

Take-Two Style

A new style…all preloved, recycled and 'economical'

Let's Face the Music

Renovating an old house by a musical couple who want to live there the rest of their lives.

